I Got a Tattoo!

Surprise! Yeah, I actually didn’t get one in real life. *parents’ relieved sigh in the distance* I had a dream about getting one. But, I don’t know. A tattoo doesn’t sound like an absolutely horrible idea. *shocked parents gasp in the distance* I wouldn’t mind having a fearless rune etched in my skin. It’s just a form of self-expression.

Anyway, in this dream I could clearly envision what the tattoo looked like and it intrigued me. The way that I used it in my dream feels like I could make it into a legitimate story line. I’ll have to put it on my (long and unfinished) list of stories to write.

Dream

The dream begins with me and Anya at a giant Barnes and Noble. But, you see, this is a special Barnes and Noble. It’s like one of those super Wal-Marts. Only with books. Heheheh. This Barnes and Noble has everything you would need to live on, like a grocery section, etc. It’s like a dream come true (haha maybe I shouldn’t use that expression when describing my dreams). Pfft oh yeah and then Anya’s there. I’m happy about that too. But… books (sorry Anya). Reveling in the gloriousnessss of the super Barnes and Noble, Anya and I show each other our favorite sections, excited to recommend books to each other.

I pick up an interesting-looking book and start reading. When I open it, I get sucked into the story, becoming the main character.

This is what the tattoo under the boy’s neck looked like. The separate line in the middle is what faded. (I drew it on my wrist, so just imagine that it’s on someone’s chest.)

Inside the story, I drive my car to this mini castle that is apparently open to the public. As I walk up towards the castle, this guy with stark white hair comes dashing through the parking lot, looking determined and scared as heck. He is bleeding from his side. He almost bumps into me and we stare at each other, both frozen by surprise. Right underneath his neck I see that there is a tattoo. It has three separate parts- the fletching of an arrow, part of an arrow shaft, and a heart. As he stares at me the arrow shaft part of the tattoo fades. Looking down at myself I realize I now have white hair and a tattoo to match his.

He runs away before I can do anything and I continue to go to my car. Before I can drive away this jerk police officer dude approaches and starts bothering me. He’s after the boy. I don’t know how, but I knew the boy was the good guy and I refused to help the mean officer. I get really angry that he keeps messing with me, so I start spraying him with water. Water is obviously the best way to get him to back off. Within the dream, it is completely normal for me to spray a police officer with a water gun to get him to go away. (Please kids, don’t try this at home.) My water offense is successful and I am free to drive away. Unknowingly I take the injured boy with me, as my distraction allowed him to sneak into my trunk.

Arriving at this park, I remember walking really fast past this open grassy area hoping people wouldn’t notice me. I think it had something to do with the guy. I was trying to hide him. Of course, my family noticed me and I had to stop. They pulled out a computer and I showed them a video I had taken off the police officer harassing me. I wanted him to get in trouble. As I watched the video I was somehow transported back to that moment in time.

In this alternate past, I am back at the mini castle and go inside a connected smaller building. I am once again clueless as to what is going on. I open the building door to find a boy standing over an old lady who is lying on her back. The boy has white hair and a tattoo right under his neck. My dream conscious knows that the old lady is actually a witch, and even though the boy is standing over her, she has the advantage in this fight. In this version of time, the boy turns to see me and gives me his tattoo then. This confuses the witch and allows both of us to escape, although I have no idea what’s going on. We both ran away unstabbed. This time I didn’t film officer, but I did more consciously distract him so the boy could get away. I kept the boy hidden in my car.

This time when I return to my family we have this outdoor theater thingy where we all watch Beauty and the Beast together (my fav!). For some reason, we put the subtitles in, even though my dad can’t stand them. Gaston’s song comes on (when they’re in the pub) and the boy who I’m still trying to keep hidden starts messing with the lyrics. (Specifically the one line where La Fou says “-ask any Tom, Dick, or Stanley” Yeah… the boy kept making one of those words appear over and over again on the screen.) I was VERY annoyed. He was being naughty and I was trying to keep my family from discovering him.

He was doing it to get my attention though. He had been trying to convince me to do something new, but I didn’t believe him. His revenge was to mess with the movie in front of my family. At the end of my dream, I finally realize that the boy I’m talking to is a ghost that only I can see, which explains why he hasn’t been caught yet. Apparently he hadn’t survived after he transferred his powers to me. I now was left to carry on his magical duties using my white hair and tattoo. Ghost boy was there to help me.

Leave a Reply

